North Carolina Business Overview

Your North Carolina Company Formed By:

04:12:38 AM
Corporation
Wednesday
August 23rd
LLC
Wednesday
August 23rd

Starting a Business in North Carolina

The Basics

Whether you are interested in forming a North Carolina LLC or a North Carolina Corporation, our experienced staff and secure online application will take the guesswork out of filing.

We understand that starting a small business can be a stressful time, so let us take the hassle out of trying to understand all the legal jargon and procedures. When operated correctly, your new legal small business entity will help shield you from the debts and liabilities of running a small business.

We’ll take care of the paperwork; you can take care of your new business…order now or call one of our customer service representatives today.

Doing Business in North Carolina

Business Maintenance

All North Carolina Corporations and LLCs Must File: 

  • Articles of Incorporation
    North Carolina corporations are formed by filing the Articles of Incorporation or Articles of Organization with the Department of State. It costs $125 to register a North Carolina corporation or LLC.
  • Annual Report
    North Carolina corporations and LLCs must file an annual report each year. LLCs must file with the Secretary of State by April 15. Corporations may file with the Department of Revenue by their tax deadline or with the Secretary of State by the 15th day of the fourth month following the end of the fiscal year (usually April 15). The Filing fee for NC LLC reports is $200 by mail or $202 online. The NC corporation annual report costs $25 by mail or $20 online.

North Carolina Business Taxes

Personal Income Tax
The North Carolina Individual income tax rate is 5.75%.

Corporation Tax
The NC corporate income tax rate is 5%.

Franchise Tax
The franchise tax rate is $1.50 per $1,000 and is applied to the largest of the three bases determined by North Carolina Law. The taxable franchise tax base is the largest of the corporation’s capital stock, surplus and undivided profits, 55% of appraised ad valorem tax value of all tangible property in NC, or actual investment in tangible property in North Carolina. The minimum North Carolina franchise tax is $35.

North Carolina Business License

North Carolina does not require a general state business license. You should always make sure your business has the appropriate local licenses and occupational licenses.